The United States Conference of Catholic Bishops describes devotions as “expressions of love and fidelity that arise from the intersection of one’s own faith, culture and the Gospel of Jesus Christ”. Devotions are not considered part of liturgical worship, even if they are performed in a church or led by a priest.

The Angelus is a brief devotion in honor of the Incarnation that consists of short verses drawn from the Bible and a triple repetition of the Hail Mary.  It is a way for lay people to sanctify the hours of the day that echoes the monastic praying of the Liturgy of the Hours. The practice seems to have always been associated with the ringing of a bell at 6:00 am.,12:00 pm, and 6:00 pm.  By intentionally setting aside time for prayer throughout the day, every day, we turn our whole lives over to God, who becomes the motivation of all we do and all we are.

Chaplet of Divine Mercy
The Chaplet of Divine Mercy is a devotional that is recited using ordinary rosary beads of five decades. It reflects on the Diary of Saint Faustina, and deepens your trust in Jesus! The Chaplet is preceded by two opening prayers from the Diary of Saint Faustina and followed by a closing prayer.It is generally prayed at 3:00 pm.  Learn more about the Chaplet here. Video and audio prayers can be found here.

Stations of the Cross from Saint Jude
See Stations Booklet, The Way of the Cross

The Stations of the Cross is a powerful devotional that focuses on 14 specific scenes from Jesus’ last day. The stations are commonly used as a mini pilgrimage as the individual moves from station to station. At each station, the individual recalls and meditates on a specific event from Christ’s last day. Specific prayers are recited, then the individual moves to the next station until all 14 are completed.

Stations of the Cross, EWTN
Stations of the Cross by St. Francis Assisi
Bishop Robert Barron’s Stations of the Cross